Which country is most different from yours

The difference between the EU and the Schengen area

The European Union and the Represent the Schengen area two completely different concepts on the same continent.

ETIAS (the European travel information and authorization system) requires that visitors to the Schengen area before entry apply for an ETIAS. The ETIAS system for Europe will come into force in 2022. It was developed by the European Union (EU) for border control and security in the Strengthen the Schengen area.

With the upcoming launch of ETIAS, there is understandably a great deal of confusion about what the travelers are for Need visit to Europe. Part of this confusion comes from a misunderstanding about which Countries belong to the Schengen areawhich are the ETIAS countries and which countries belong to the EU.

In 2016, the UK voted to leave the EU. With the Brexit raised further questions about ithow trips to Europe will work in the future.

What is the European Union?

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union made up of the 28 member states. It was originally founded to promote peace on the continent, but has grown in importance since its inception.

The EU countries have autonomy in many aspects of their policy making, including foreign policy, but are tied to the EU's judicial and legislative institutions.

The internal market, a unique form of trade between Member States, enables people, goods, services and money to move freely. EU citizens enjoy absolute freedom to study, work, live and enjoy retirement in any country in the European Union.

However, these rights do not apply to citizens from non-EU countries. Visitors to the EU can travel freely between the countries of the Schengen area after entering one of the Schengen countries, but not all EU countries belong to the Schengen area.

List of countries in Europe

The 27 member states of the EU:

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Cyprus

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen area is an area that consists of 26 European countrieswho have officially abolished passport controls and other types of border controls at their common borders. For visitors to the EU, this basically means that the Schengen area acts as an independent country, i.e. if you enter one Schengen country, you can also enter all other Schengen countries.

Which countries belong to the Schengen area?

Schengen countries are the European countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement. These countries operate without internal border controls, which enables free movement between the participating countries.

Currently there are 26 Schengen member states. Most of them are countries belonging to the European Union (EU). However, two EU countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland, decided to withdraw from the Schengen Agreement.

There are also four countries that do this Belong to the Schengen area, but not EU member states: Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Three micro-states are also included in the Schengen area: Monaco, Vatican City and San Marino.

What is the difference between the EU and the Schengen area?

In short, there are two different unitsalthough many countries are involved in both. The EU is a political and economic union, while the Schengen area enables free movement of persons between the participating countries.

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union with 28 member states. The EU has developed a duty-free internal market and guarantees freedom of travel for all EU citizens between the 28 countries.

Although each member state has its own government, there is common laws, which cover a number of areas, including trade, agriculture and regional development.

The original six members (Belgium, France, Italy and Luxembourg) merged in the 1950s with the signing of the Treaty of Paris (1951) and the Treaty of Rome (1957). They were referred to as "the European Community".

In the following decades the community grew by another 22 members and formed the European Union.

Are EU countries and Schengen countries the same?

no, it are also non-EU countriesbelonging to the Schengen area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City). But there are also countries that are part of the EU and have withdrawn from the Schengen Agreement, namely the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

How does this affect ETIAS?

The ETIAS visa waiver grants access to all countriesincluded in the Schengen Agreement, i.e. the ETIAS countries and the Schengen countries are identical, an ETIAS is practically a Schengen visa.