Why was Burma renamed Myanmar

Burma, Burma or Myanmar?

The official name of the Southeast Asian country is Pyidaungsu Thamada Myanmar Naing-Ngan-Daw, Union of Myanmar.

Several times in history the country has changed its name from Burma to Myanmar and back again. Both words denote the largest population group, the Bamar, in their own language (Burmese). 'Myanmar' has existed since the sixth century and comes from the written language; Bama, from which the English word 'Burma' is derived, is the colloquial expression and is more widespread in the population. In Burmese the syllable means Myan 'fast', the syllable Mar 'strong'.

Junta name

On June 18, 1989, based on Law No. 15/89, the "Adaptation of Expressions Law", the military junta officially designated the country as Myanmar. This was intended to distance oneself from the colonial era. The city of Yangon was also renamed Yangon, and numerous other place names were changed. The democratic opposition under the long imprisoned Aung San Suu Kyi was against this renaming carried out by the dictatorship and advocated keeping the name Burma.

However, the UN and numerous other states followed the instructions of the junta and adopted the name Myanmar immediately after it was proclaimed by the military. The USA, Australia and numerous states and NGOs, on the other hand, stuck to the name Burma as a sign of their rejection of the regime.

The term 'Birma' is the Germanized variant of Burma. (red)