Still use SMS

o2 warns of phishing SMS and describes problem solving

Trojan "Your package has been sent."
Andre Reinhardt Usually, a delivery confirmation is good news, but not if it contains a phishing link. Network operator Telefónica warns of the scam “Your package has been sent” on its website. The basis of this cyber attack is a harmless-looking SMS, which calls for verification of the delivery process. This should now increasingly make the O2 cellular network insecure. There were already numerous reports of this attack in January. Under no circumstances should recipients click on the link, as the perpetrators could otherwise use the mobile device for expensive additional services.

A defective SMS (still) casts its fishing rod

Trojan "Your package has been sent."
Andre Reinhardt About a month ago, police institutions such as the Lower Saxony State Criminal Police Office issued a warning regarding a short message. “Your package has been sent. Please check and accept it, "is the message behind which an ominous link that was disguised with the Duck DNS service is integrated. What is particularly noticeable about the message, in addition to the dubious URL, is the broken German. We also received the said SMS a few weeks ago via the Vodafone network. Now it seems that the CO2 network is being besieged with the attack.

The Munich telecommunications company Telefónica Germany draws attention to the unpleasant mobile phone message in its Current Information section. "Unfortunately, we had to find out that some of our customers were the target of a phishing attack via SMS," admits the provider. The network operator then explains how the malware works. As soon as the link contained therein has been clicked, malware is installed. With this, the perpetrators seize the mobile device in order to send expensive SMS messages outside of Europe. Accordingly, a high mobile phone bill can arise.

Telefónica recommends resetting the phone

If you have an Android smartphone and have already clicked on the link, there is a very straightforward solution to this problem. First, you should back up your data via the cloud or memory card. Then the flight mode of the mobile phone must be activated. The factory settings are now reset. The menu entry required for this can often be found under "Settings / Reset / Reset options /". There you select "On delivery status (delete all)". On Samsung mobile devices, you can get to the destination via “Settings / General Management / Reset”.

If the data is to be uploaded again from a cloud backup after the process, no apps may be included, otherwise the Trojan will get back onto the cell phone. Missing software can be obtained from Google Play.