What are democratic Asian countries

Asia Political Overview

When British India was granted independence in 1947, Gandhi tried in vain to preserve the country's unity; It was finally divided into the states of Pakistan, in which Islam was made the state religion, and India, which was dominated by Hinduism. East Pakistan, on the other hand, split off from West Pakistan as Bangladesh in 1971 due to linguistic and cultural differences. The border disputes between India and Pakistan over the Kashmiri region, which is predominantly Muslim but still part of India, led to an ongoing conflict that could not be resolved even after the division of Kashmir in 1966.

Sri Lanka, the former Ceylon, fell to the Portuguese in 1505, was taken over by the Dutch in 1658 and came into British possession in 1796. In 1948 the former crown colony was given independence. From the 1950s, there were repeated bloody conflicts between the Sinhala and Tamil population groups. In 1972 Ceylon became a republic under the name Sri Lanka. The longstanding ethnic conflicts between Tamils ​​and Sinhalese culminated in a civil war in 1983 that only ended in 2009. Like Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Malaysia, Sri Lanka is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, a loose community of sovereign states from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and former colonies.

Myanmar, formerly Burma, fell to British India in 1886 and Japan in 1942 before gaining independence in 1948. Officially a socialist republic, Myanmar has been ruled by a military dictatorship since the 1962 coup. The 2007 protest rallies, led by Buddhist monks and nuns, were crushed by the government. Only since 2011 has the country had a constitution and a civil head of state.

show more